Iowa Hawkeyes secure third-straight Big Ten Tournament Championship with overtime win over Nebraska

It took extra basketball, but the Iowa Hawkeyes are Big Ten Tournament champions for the third straight season.

Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament - Championship
Big Ten Women's Basketball Tournament - Championship / Adam Bettcher/GettyImages

The Iowa Hawkeyes likely just locked up a 1-seed in the NCAA Tournament after winning the program's third consecutive Big Ten Tournament Championship with a 94-89 overtime win over the Nebraska Cornhuskers.

Iowa's title, the sixth for the Hawkeyes, moves the program to second in the conference for all-time tournament championships behind Purdue. Iowa also matches the longest consecutive tournament title streak with Purdue (1998-2000), Ohio State (2009-11) and Maryland (2015-17).

The Hawkeyes stumbled out of the gate with Caitlin Clark missing her first six shots, 0-5 from three, in the first quarter. Nebraska took advantage with aggression under the board led by Alexis Markowski and took advantage of their open shots.

Iowa struggled with the 6-foot-3 Markowski for the entire game in a physical matchup. She put up her 40th career double-double by the game's end, split her 13 rebounds 7-6 defensively and contributed 21 points.

With a tight rim early, Clark turned to distribution, dishing assists to her teammates. Hannah Stuelke and Sydney Affolter were the biggest beneficiaries as the Hawkeyes clawed back, though still trailing by 11 at the half. Stuelke finished with 25 points while Affolter put up 11.

Clark started to get back on track in the second half with 12 in the third quarter to give the Hawkeyes their first lead since the opening minute. Another 12 in the fourth gave the Hawkeyes the spark they needed to close out regulation with a tie game.

Kate Martin proved to be a difference maker late, draining a few clutch threes to keep momentum in the Hawkeyes' favor. All 12 of her points came from behind the arc.

Clark stats finished 34 points, 12 assists, seven rebounds and two steals. Clark closed her final run through the Big Ten Tournament with the tournament's all-time scoring record and the championship MVP.

The Hawkeyes will now wait to see what path awaits them in the NCAA Tournament. Selection Sunday for the NCAA Women's Tournament is on Sunday, March 17 at 8:00 p.m. on ESPN.

Up Next: