Iowa football: 30 greatest players in Hawkeyes history

Ricky Stanzi, Iowa Hawkeyes. (Photo by David Purdy/Getty Images)
Ricky Stanzi, Iowa Hawkeyes. (Photo by David Purdy/Getty Images) /
4 of 31
Iowa Hawkeyes
Iowa Hawkeyes. (Photo by Matthew Holst/Getty Images) /

Quarterback Aubrey Devine was another integral member of the 1921 Iowa football team that claimed the Big Ten Championship. A three-year starter at quarterback, Devine compiled a 16-3 record, which includes the undefeated 7-0 season in 1921.

Devine, a Des Moines native, was small in stature at just 5-foot-9 and 170 pounds, but carried the Hawkeyes’ offense for three seasons. He was named First-Team All-Big Ten three times and First-Team All-American once in his senior year.

He holds the single-season rushing yards record for a quarterback and led the Iowa football team in both rushing and passing in each of his three years under center. His style of play is something we may likely never see again from an Iowa quarterback, given his fantastic dual-threat ability out of the backfield.

Aubrey Devine is a member of the College Football Hall of Fame (inducted in 1973) and a member of the Iowa Sports Hall of Fame. Maybe even most impressively, while starring for the football team, he was also a three-year letter winner in track and basketball.

Post college, Devine didn’t play professional football, instead deciding to coach basketball in Colorado before leaving the game altogether and becoming a lawyer.