Iowa Football: James Daniels On The Rimington Trophy Watch List


Preseason award prognostication continues after the Maxwell and Bednarik were first announced. And, with the release of the Rimington Trophy watch list. Hawkeyes center James Daniels got the nod amongst the predicted best centers in the country.

Daniels who is going into his junior year with the Hawkeyes has been one of few lineman for Iowa to basically play since he got on campus.

The younger brother of running back LeShun Daniels who ran for over 1000 yards last season, and is going to be in camp for the New England Patriots in a few weeks, is among the leaders of the Hawkeye team.

Last season the Hawkeye line won the Joe Moore Award presented to the best offensive line unit. This years group should be just as, or more effective with Daniels anchoring the group, and a talented crew coming back.

Other Big Ten centers to make the list included: Billy Pierce (Ohio State), Brad North (Northwestern), Brendan Moore (Maryland), Brian Allen (Michigan State), Jared Weyler (Minnesota), Michael Deiter (Wisconsin) and Nick Allegretti (Illinois).

The Hawkeyes have never had a winner of the trophy since it came into existence in 2000, and the Big Ten is defending the trophy as Ohio State’s Pat Elflein won it in 2016.

Also announced was the watch list for the best tight end in the country known as the John Mackey Award. The Hawkeyes who are known as one of the better schools nationally did not have anyone on the watch list this year.

They go into the season with seniors Peter Pekar and Jon Wisnieski, along with the talented Noah Fant who saw time in his true freshmen campaign.

The Hawkeyes one winner of the Mackey Award was given to Dallas Clark in 2002.